Dev Retro 2022: Thoughts on My Journey as a Student Developer

Dev Retro 2022: Thoughts on My Journey as a Student Developer

A retrospective look at my development, learnings and failures in 2022

The year 2022 has come to an end for me. It was a year filled with both challenges and accomplishments. I learned a lot and grew as a person, and I am grateful for the experiences and opportunities that I had. As I reflect on the past year, I am looking forward to what the future holds and am excited for the new adventures and opportunities that the next year will bring.

The beginning of 2022 marked the start of my internship as a web developer at a startup. Despite having little experience at the time, I was able to learn and grow a great deal during my time there. One of the key things I learned was the importance of connecting a webpage to a database, and I was able to gain hands-on experience with this crucial aspect of web development.

Additionally, I was able to host my first website on the internet, which was a major milestone for me. I also made significant progress in improving my backend knowledge of PHP and MySQL and was able to build several small web pages on my own. Overall, it was a challenging but rewarding year as I developed my skills as a web developer.

I had a productive year in terms of professional development. Not only did I complete the third milestone of the Google Cloud-ready facilitator program, but I also finished the Jina AI BootCamp. Both of these experiences were valuable and I was fortunate to receive some swag for my participation. Through these programs, I was able to learn the basics of Google Cloud and expand my knowledge in various areas.

During September, I was fortunate enough to take on an internship as a content writer. This opportunity turned out to be extremely beneficial to me, as I was able to write a total of 40 articles over the course of two months while also learning a lot about SEO and other aspects of content writing. I am eager to utilize these skills in the future and continue to develop my abilities as a content writer.

I was disappointed with my performance in college this year as I was not able to meet my own expectations. As a result, my CGPA dropped. I am determined to do better in the coming year

Although I tried applying for more web development internships this year, I received no response. This was a disappointment, but it has motivated me to improve my resume and online profile in order to increase my chances of success in the future.

Overall, 2022 was a year of both failures and successes for me. While there were some setbacks, I also had some notable accomplishments. One of the highlights of the year was discovering my interest in blockchain technology.

As I look towards the new year, I am determined to focus on my professional development and growth. One of my main goals is to learn more about blockchain technology and deepen my understanding of this rapidly-evolving field. In addition, I want to work on improving my DSA and problem-solving skills, as these are essential for success in many fields. I am excited about the opportunity to learn and grow in the coming year and am committed to putting in the effort and dedication necessary to achieve my goals.